The Killing on AMC – I watched it so you won’t have to.

There has been much ado about the finale of “The Killing” on AMC. The Killing is based on a successful Danish TV series that dealt with a murder mystery over the course of a 20 + episode season. AMC’s series, thankfully, is only 13 episodes long. The show’s tag line is “Who Killed Rosie Larsen?” One could expect that by the end of season 1, there would be an answer to that question.

 

 

The premiere of  “The Killing” was a free iTunes download in 2 parts. Since I could not resist that bargain price, I decided to give the show a try on my iPhone. I watched as I also watched my kids at their swimming lesson. Otherwise, I probably would not have started watching the show as it premiered at a really inconvenient time of year (early April). I have way too many shows on the go, and I am always playing catch up (Hurray for my 3 PVR’s). The last thing I need is a new show to start when approaching the end of the regular TV season in May.

The pilot impressed me. I liked many of the actors (Michelle Forbes, Callum Keith Rennie, Billy Campbell), the pacing was deliberate but not too slow. We were given glimpses into the main characters’ personal struggles. The 2 lead detectives (actors previously unknown to me) made a quirky duo. Mireille Enos plays Sarah Linden, the lead homicide detective and Joel Kinnaman as Stephen Holder, is her rookie homicide detective partner, recently transferred from the County vice squad. There is a subplot involving a local mayoral race that overlapped with the main plot of the murder mystery. I was pretty pumped, anticipating the next few episodes and programmed my PVR (the one in front of the treadmill that encourages my sporadic exercise regime). The style of the show hinted at Twin Peaks and X-files in a teasing fashion.

Well, my excitement was short-lived. Despite being only 13 episodes, this series started to drag in a way that I did not want from a murder mystery. I can handle slow paced TV (hello – Mad Men and Lost fan here!) However, there was not enough character development, character chemistry, witty dialogue, beautiful scenery (the last one is a stretch) to help me enjoy the ride. There were so many red-herrings and wild goose chases along with a filler episode involving the “disappearance” of Linden’s 13 year old son that I grew impatient. This is a series that is based in the real word so I have very little patience for too many red-herrings. I consider it sloppy writing. I mean honestly, how much circumstantial evidence can you build around how many characters that have crossed paths with Rosie Larsen? I have a higher threshold for this sort of nonsense (suspension of disbelief that is) if there are fantastical elements to the story (i.e Lost).

By the end, I just wanted to know “Who Killed Rosie Larsen?” A brief look online shows that I was not alone in my sentiment. SLIGHT SPOILER ALERT, the lame twist ending of the season left me feeling cheated and I stopped caring about everything involving these characters. I won’t be watching Season 2. Which is really a relief because I have too much on the go as it is.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Trackback: Veronica Mars, TV for Mothers and Daughters « What is Ann Watching?
  2. Trackback: True Detective: A New Look at Noir | What is Ann Watching?

Leave a Reply

Blog Stats

  • 11,051 hits
