A Return to Classic Film and a Surprise Award

My good friend Derek and I enjoy similar taste in classic films and he has recommended many titles to me. “Love Me or Leave Me” (1955) is one of his recommendations that I had ear marked for some time. I finally had a chance to watch it last week. I used it to make an unpleasant task (sorting receipts and other documents for tax purposes) rather enjoyable as I had it playing in the kitchen while I toiled at the breakfast table.

It is a dramatic film starring Doris Day and James Cagney. It is a fictional biography of Ruth Etting (Day). She was a jazz singer with whom I was not familiar. It tells the story of her rise from obscure taxi dancer to jazz sensation, in part due to her relationship and eventual marriage to gangster Marty Snyder (Cagney). It is a strange combination of gangster drama with some dark elements and great musical performances by Day.

Cagney is magnificent as the bully husband/manager. He has haunted me ever since I saw him in “The Public Enemy” as a young child (especially that final scene with his “homecoming”). He is only matched by Day. She is at her peak as a jazz singer and plays his conflicted wife with dramatic conviction. I was amazed at her performance, as I always considered her more of a light comedic actor. Considering the era that it was filmed, I was surprised at the calculated honesty and brutality , both physically and emotionally, of this mismatched pair. Not exactly an uplifting movie but the performances were riveting. I am not sure how true the depictions are. I suspect Day’s role was cleaned up a bit, so as not to stray too far from her image. Still, another great recommendation; thanks Derek!

It is was a complete surprise to be nominated for the Sunshine Award! I am new to blogging and being recognized in such a way is awesome. Especially being recognized by a blogger who’s writing I really enjoy over at  http://journeysinclassicfilm.com/ . It is great to know young people out there still enjoy classic cinema!

Thank You to maroon5gurl88 at Journeys in Classic Film for Nominating Me

In accepting the award, I must fullfil the duties that come with such an honour. After a thanks, posting the logo on my blog and a shout out to she who nominated me, next I must answer ten questions about myself. I will use the same questions that previous winners have used.

Favorite Color: Red, blood red, not orangey or pinkish.

Favorite Animal: Dogs in theory (unconditional loyalty) but cats in reality (conditional loyalty but do not require walking and can be left alone for days at a time) Yes that is a picture of the family cat, Pepper (so named after Pepper Potts, Iron Man’s assistant, by my youngest daughter; we had recently watched Iron Man 2 at the theatre)

Favorite Number: 9

Favorite Non Alcoholic Drink: Diet Cola with sucralose rather than aspartame

Prefer Facebook or Twitter: Neither, my accounts for both lay idle. I cannot be bothered.

My Passion: to quote my eldest daughter “Is that all you care about, TV and Movies?” My answer was a meek “Do you mean besides you, your sister and your Dad?”

Prefer Getting or Giving Presents: Giving, most definitely.

Favorite Pattern:  I am a sucker for a Paisley Print. I would love a shirt made with this

Favorite Day of the Week: Stay in bed Sundays (ok maybe not stay in bed but how about stay in pyjamas?)

Favorite Flower: Any flower(s) brought to me in a gift bouquet. I do not enjoy gardening but I love receiving cut flowers, go figure!

Now I must nominate other blogs that I enjoy. I know it should be 5 to 10, but I must confess that there are not that many blogs that I routinely follow except for the above mentioned and the following:

First is my good friend Kira’s blog. Round About Cambridge http://kiraturner.com/ She writes about the community where we live and has been instrumental in getting me blogging and using other social media.

I recently discovered Dave’s blog, Flickers http://flickerobsession.blogspot.ca/ and it is a great read. He’s a TV/Movie buff, just like me, if I were male, a decade younger, and lived south of the 49th parallel.

Sidewalk Crossings http://fencernanowrimo.blogspot.ca/ is a great classic film site that I enjoy dropping in on now and then. It is very well writen and a great way to get recommendations.

Laura’s Miscellaneous Musings http://laurasmiscmusings.blogspot.ca/ is another great blog that is about classic film and an inspiration for my blog.

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. maroon5gurl88
    Apr 17, 2012 @ 22:58:12

    Happy to spread the love. This was my first award as well so I’m happy to pay it forward! Awesome review today!

    Reply

  2. Dave
    Apr 18, 2012 @ 12:37:55

    Congratulations on the award, and thank you SO MUCH for spreading the love around. I appreciate your sentiments, and trust me when I say that the feeling is mutual. Keep up the great work, Ann, and I look forward to some fun exchanges with you and the rest of “the gang.”

    Reply

  3. Dave
    Apr 30, 2012 @ 15:26:40

    By the way, I’m more than happy to repay the favor. Hope you’re doing well, Ann!

    http://wp.me/p2oj04-5

    Reply

  4. deljoy
    May 01, 2012 @ 11:04:29

    Congrats Ann and thanks for your excellent review of “Love Me Or Leave Me”………so pleased you enjoyed the film

    Reply

  5. deljoy
    May 01, 2012 @ 11:15:17

    Congrats Ann and I loved your excellent review of “Love Me Or Leave Me”, so pleased you liked the film. Derek.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Blog Stats

  • 11,250 hits
