Breaking Bad, a Spoiler-free Farewell and Thanks.

BB_400-1

Click on Image to see the transformation of Walter White. A stunning GIF made by Andy McDonald

Breaking Bad just ended; last night the final episode aired. I watched it as it aired, with commercials. I can’t remember the last time I did that. Wow! It didn’t disappoint. I have already gone on and on about why this show is so great in a previous post HERE so I won’t repeat myself.

I laughed at myself when I remembered how low I was aiming when I tried to figure out what would be a satisfying ending for this show. Creator/Producer Vince Gilligan defied my expectations with the final 8 episodes of this brilliant series. The ending was more than satisfying; it was poetic and authentic. I watched it with my mother-in-law, who had never seen a single episode prior to last night’s. She too was stunned by its audacity and vision. So thanks to the cast and crew for a wildly satisfying 6 year ride.

If you like dark drama with a streak of even darker humour, then this is for you. It is one of the best acted, most stylishly filmed and  tightly written TV programs EVER (ok,ok, tied with Spartacus for the top spot) . It is one of a few series that went out on top.

Both Spartacus and Breaking Bad have concluded this year and they have raised the bar so high that it is hard to get effusive about any other TV programs, whether new or returning. They all seem like pale shadows.

So when I check out a few of this year’s new shows (Marvel’s Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D., Sleepy Hollow, Dracula, The Originals), I will try to be kind and patient but it will require effort. I will go in with low expectations and hope to be surprised.

I am currently part way through the latest season of Strike Back (Cinemax season 3) and it has held up well. I will also be sticking with Castle, The Vampire Diaries and Supernatural for now. But it is hard to get too excited about their returns. I am looking forward to the next great TV show to steal my heart. I am open to suggestions/recommendations.

How did you like the Breaking Bad finale?

Late addition.

Great minds think alike. I guess I don’t have to ask how Sir Anthony Hopkins liked it.

Sir Anthony Hopkins writes the best fan letter ever.

 

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Trackback: Better Call Saul | What is Ann Watching?

Leave a Reply

Blog Stats

  • 11,250 hits
