The Hobbit 2: a Review

hobbit_desolation_of_smaug_poster

It is that time of year again. Yes, of course I mean the time to revisit Middle Earth in the 2nd of 3 instalments of the Hobbit movies. I went to the theatre to see it in 3D (would have preferred 2D but the show times were not in our favour) with my husband (big fan of Tolkien’s Middle Earth), my eldest daughter and her friend. My youngest made it clear that she was not interested, after having watched the first instalment. She was happy to visit with friends instead.

I had mixed feelings going in. I have no particular affection or nostalgia for Middle Earth. I felt the first movie was bloated so I was prepared for the worst. However, I am fond of some of the actors (Ian McKellan, Richard Armitage, Martin Freeman, Aidan Turner, Dean O’Gorman, Lee Pace and Benedict Cumberbatch) and I think Peter Jackson is a visual genius. BUT this is essentially a road movie with very little character development. Yet it has a large, mostly neglected, ensemble cast. The perils encountered along the journey held my interest to varying degrees but few were memorable beyond the moment – except perhaps the barrel escape. When the company gets separated, the movie switches clumsily between Gandalf’s solo (?pointless) side quest and the company of 13 Dwarves + 1 Hobbit.

I enjoy road movies if there is character development as well as colourful or funny encounters. Sigh, this film had none of this. It felt like endless action sequences stitched to boring expository scenes. Oh yes, I almost forgot, there is a terribly shoehorned love triangle (Legolas, Tauriel, Fili). That was not enough to have me invested in the fate of any of the characters. To make matters worse, the movie ends on a complete cliff hanger. “Quelle surprise” its the middle of a trilogy.

You would think that after watching this group on their quest for 5+ hours and over 2 films, I should care about their fates. I — so —- really —- don’t. Regardless, I will be back for the last instalment in approximately 1 years time. Why not skip it? It is visually stunning and because my daughter and husband really liked this movie. So I don’t mind spending a bit more time with them in the company of Ian McKellan, Richard Armitage, Martin Freeman, Aidan Turner, Dean O’Gorman, Lee Pace and Benedict Cumberbatch. ¬†Hopefully in 2D, as 3D was completely unnecessary. This remains a movie for fans of Tolkien who want to spend as much time in Middle Earth as possible. Alas, that is not me.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Tara
    Dec 17, 2013 @ 21:26:04

    Thanks! Glad we decided to skip it!

    Reply

  2. Trackback: Poldark TV miniseries: a review | What is Ann Watching?

Leave a Reply

Blog Stats

  • 10,910 hits
