X-Men: Days of Future Past: a review

Movies-xmen-days-of-future-past-posters

 

Lately I have had superhero fatigue. I didn’t bother seeing the latest sequels to any of the following franchises: Thor, Captain America and even my beloved Spider-man. I skipped the first 2 because I was indifferent to the first instalments and as for Spider-man, the reviews were not that encouraging. I guess I was saving myself for the X-Men. Wow, I enjoyed this one. Granted, I went in with lowish expectations. But I really like Hugh Jackman and would watch him in anything (yes even the insufferable Australia, 2 hours 45 min, just gone) and my husband and eldest daughter wanted to see it so we dragged my youngest along and caught a matinee in 2D.

 

 

This was the best X-Men film in a very long time. It had a story that was not too complicated and made use of many of my favourite characters, young and old. As a bonus, the one true villain in the film was Peter Dinklage. He played Bolivar Trask, the inventor of the Sentinel army of robots, designed to wipe out mutants. There was a great balance of action, humour, drama and character development. Because the story involved time travel and didn’t dwell on the logistics of it too much, I was able to enjoy Patrick Stewart and James McAvoy as Charles Xavier, as well as Ian McLellan and Michael Fassbender as Magneto. This story had a lot of humanity as Wolverine travelled back in time to prevent Mystique (Jennifer Lawrence) from triggering a terrible war that was to decimate humans and mutants alike in the present. But first he had to get young Charles Xavier out of an emotional slump and break Magneto out of a secret prison buried under the Pentagon. SPOILER ALERT, he did, with the help of the newest X-Man, Quicksilver, in one of the best scenes I had ever seen in a super hero movie. The good will from that imaginatively thrilling and funny scene-stealing moment by newcomer Evan Peters was worth the price of admission.

There were many cameos from X-Men from previous instalments, but the film really focused on Wolverine, young Xavier and Magneto and Mystique to a satisfying conclusion. We all left the theatre glad to have seen this film. I can’t wait to see it again.

 

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. George Thorpe
    May 24, 2014 @ 20:16:34

    Hey ann we haven’t been able to read the last few posts

    Sent from my iPhone

    >

    Reply

  2. Trackback: The Avengers: Age of Ultron, a review | What is Ann Watching?

Leave a Reply

Blog Stats

  • 11,186 hits
