Edge of Tomorrow: a belated review.

edge_of_tomorrow_poster_web

 

It has been a while since I have posted on this blog and yet I have seen a few good films. I have been kinda busy lately, so here I am trying to play catch up.

I guess it is official, this recent movie, Edge of Tomorrow is a box-office flop, but don’t let that dissuade you. This is an entertaining action movie. It is a cross between Groundhog Day and Terminator. It takes place in a grim future, where mankind is at war with aliens called mimics. Tom Cruise’s character, Major William Cage, finds himself in an endless time loop, reliving each day over and over as he acquires additional pieces of intel that could help save the human race. Unfortunately, our hero’s journey is a classic case of 2 steps forward, one step back and the last step is by definition lethal, except it isn’t – resulting in a daily reboot.

Of course, everyone thinks Gage is crazy, everyone except super soldier Rita (Emily Blunt) who pairs up with him. Soon it becomes clear that the fate of humanity lies with them.

I should mention that I am not exactly a Tom Cruise fan. Which probably explains why I liked this film more than most action films. It had tons of humour; this is in addition to watching Tom Cruise die repeatedly (I know that makes me a terrible person). There was a surprising amount of character development, as I watched Cage grow from unabashed coward to reluctant hero. It had a super kick-ass female war hero, portrayed remarkably by Emily Blunt. And this film did not need a distracting romantic subplot. The ending was a bit predictable, but I had so much fun to that point, this flaw was forgivable.

The whole family enjoyed this film; even my youngest daughter who was not very keen at the outset. It is too bad it did not get a broader audience and failed to recoup its cost. It is no longer playing at first-run theatres, but it will probably be available for home viewing soon enough. It is well worth watching if you like a bit of humour and character development in your action films. Too bad that the rest of the world doesn’t seem to like these things as much as they like watching what seems to be a critic proof blockbuster hit like Transformers – Age of Extinction, sigh!

 

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Deborah Koren
    Jul 07, 2014 @ 21:32:17

    Hiya! I just caught this movie last weekend and agree. I liked it a lot, for most of the same reasons, and I also would not consider myself a Tom Cruise fan. But I loved the humor (loved Bill Paxton), and though the action and characters were great. And like you say, I also forgave the ending cuz I had so much fun getting there. So sorry to hear it’s not doing well at the box office. That is unfortunate, cuz it was far more entertaining than most “blockbusters.”

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Blog Stats

  • 11,186 hits
