Inside Amy Schumer: a review

Amy-ew-cover_612x380

Well, I am a bit late to the party, but boy oh boy am I glad I came!! In response to all the buzz surrounding Amy Schumer’s comedic genius and the return of her sketch comedy show for a 3rd season, this past April, I bought the first 2 seasons of Inside Amy Schumer on DVD and watched it with my daughters. We are now up to date with season 3 and are still loving her humour.

Her show is a riot. A vulgar yet highly feminist riot. It has some fun sketches, some stand-up segments and some on the street interviews. She also does longer interviews with interesting non-celebrities in a segment called “Amy Goes Deep.” If that type of innuendo bothers you, this show is not for you. There is coarse language and explicit sexual discussions. She is fearless when it come to calling “shenanigans” on the double standards that women still face in the world. I can’t think of a better way to educate my daughters about these things. She is equally excellent at calling women out on their crap too.

I just love her comedy, think she is a terrific actress and I am glad she is getting the recognition she is due. She has written and is starring in a movie called Trainwreck, opening this July. I hope it is as fun as the trailer is.

 

Here are a few of my favourite sketches from Inside Amy Schumer. Most are NSFW.

Slap Chef

 

Sleep Gym

 

O’Nutters

 

Call of Duty SPOOF

 

Herpes Scare

I can go on and on, so I will.

 

Spy Spoof

 

Boy Band spoof

 

Big booty hip-hop spoof

 

Delusional diet

 

Women can’t take compliments

Okay, I have to stop somewhere, but you don’t have to. Most of her best sketches are on youtube.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Trackback: Trainwreck: a review of another movie for mothers and daughters | What is Ann Watching?

Leave a Reply

Blog Stats

  • 10,916 hits
