Trainwreck: a review of another movie for mothers and daughters

Trainwreck_poster

In case you missed my last post, where I linked the trailer to this film, my daughters and I love Amy Schumer’s comedy. So the whole family lined up to see this film (directed by Judd Apatow) on it’s opening weekend and had a great time. Sorry that it has taken so long to blog about it.

This is a good, raunchy, romantic comedy that is aimed at a mature audience. Amy Schumer plays a journalist for a men’s magazine called S’nuff (love the idiotic joke that is) who is assigned an interview with a sports doctor to the stars, played amiably by Bill Hader. Before you know it, sparks fly.

 

 

If you like Schumer’s comedy, you will like this film. I like the flawed protagonist (Schumer is a good actress) and her dysfunctional family. I like her sweet, almost too-good-to-be-true doctor boyfriend. I especially love that when they were out on a dinner date, Dr. Aaron  snarfed his dinner in the blink of an eye. This is a bad habit often left over from hospital internship when one is frequently on call and constantly interrupted. LeBron James (a person who was simply a name to me prior to this) was a surprisingly charming and funny supporting character. Colin Quinn does a fine turn as Amy’s father. Tilda Swinton (unrecognizable) is stunning as Amy’s nasty boss.

This film was good. Schumer and Hader played a cute, convincing couple that I enjoyed watching and they made my family laugh. That’s more than I can say for most so-called romantic comedies.

Leave a Reply

Blog Stats

  • 10,916 hits
