Sicario: a Review

Sicario

 

I saw this film at the theatre a couple of nights ago with my husband. It has received great reviews. It stars Emily Blunt and is directed by Denis Villeneuve. Those 2 were enough to have me interested. The addition of Benicio Del Toro was just a bonus. Sicario means hitman in Spanish.

 

 

Emily Blunt plays Kate, and idealistic FBI agent who is motivated by vengeance to join a secret operation involving the CIA and the “War on Drugs.” She seems to be in the dark about most things mission critical and we watch her come up to speed as she struggles to understand. To say more would risk spoiling this film.

The pace of this film is rather deliberate; some would even say slow. I think a few people walked out of the theatre. I think the pace made me wonder what was going on for much of the film, paralleling Kate’s experience. All became clear and the ending was satisfying. It is a scathing commentary on the “War on Drugs.”

Both my husband and I really enjoyed it. The acting was superb. The cinematography was transportive. The violence and ghastliness had me shielding my eyes, so I probably won’t watch this again. However, I can certainly recommend it to anyone who likes thrillers, doesn’t mind a slow burn and won’t resent being in the dark for much of a film.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Trackback: Hell or High Water: Western-Noir for our times, a review | What is Ann Watching?

Leave a Reply

Blog Stats

  • 10,916 hits
