Arrival: a Review

arrival_movie_poster

I went to the theatre with my husband yesterday. We both had the day off work; the kids were in school and this film had a matinée showing. My husband and I were itching to see it after hearing/reading a lot of positive reviews. And I simply love the lead, Amy Adams (not enough to watch her in the most recent Superman movie, but still) and greatly admire the director Denis Villeneuve (Sicario).

Wow! I loved this film and so did my husband. In fact, as we left the theatre, he said that this was one of the best films he saw this year.

This film is not for everyone; it is thoughtful, deliberately paced (some would say glacially so) science fiction (not hard science like The Martian) with twisting emotional core. This is not an action movie. The CGI is minimalistic.

 

 

Aliens have arrived in 12 space pods, hovering above land in 12 different parts around the world. Nobody knows why. Amy Adams is a linguist professor who is recruited by the US military, along with Jeremy Renner, a theoretical physicist, to lead the attempts at communicating with these other worldly beings. During this procedural-like plot, we learn about Amy’s character’s life and how this assignment becomes so intricately woven into the person she is. To say more would reveal plot twists and be too “spoilery”. It is a very emotional journey. I had tears welling up and could hear a few sniffles around me as the credits rolled past.

This movie touches upon love (romantic and paternal), global politics, time-travel and militarism. There is no gratuitous sex or violence. Denis Villeneuve seems to enjoy immersing the viewer in the main character’s experience. This film reminded me of Sicario in that way. I was confused for the first 2/3 of the 2 hour run time, because everyone on-screen was too. My patience was rewarded. I am not a science fiction fan, in general, but I do like contemplative stories that give me hope for the future. This movie does that and is so much more enjoyable than the recent onslaught of dystopian fantasy films that have been hitting the multiplex.

If you like thoughtful films, don’t mind a slower pace and a bit of confusion, then check this one out. But get ready for your heart-strings to get tugged.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Trackback: Manchester by the Sea: a review | What is Ann Watching?

Leave a Reply

Blog Stats

  • 11,051 hits
