Manchester by the Sea: a review

manchester-by-the-sea

 

I am doing my best to watch all the Oscar best picture nominees this year and just finished watching Manchester by the Sea with my husband. We both thought this was an amazing film; a real emotional gut punch. It is not for everyone but if you want a cathartic cry, this character study is the answer. It is full of humour and there is hope but have the tissues handy. Beautifully filmed in the titular New England town, this film takes you on a quiet and painful journey into what is left of the soul of a broken man. Lee Chandler (Casey Affleck) returns to his hometown when his brother dies and learns that he has been named guardian to his 16 year old nephew.

Through skilled direction and deft flashbacks, we seen the man that Lee used to be and are struck by the contrast to his present self. When we learn of the circumstance responsible for his altered state, it is heart wrenching. This is a story about one man’s struggle. This film deals with the messiness of family and small town life. Yet it is a tragedy that hasn’t forgotten the importance of laughter. Kenneth Lonergan wrote and directed this original film with such remarkable attention to detail. The idiocies of everyday life are woven into the narrative adding humour to a very sad tale.

This is not a typical Hollywood movie and I am glad for that. If you like character driven stories and don’t mind a good cry, this film will knock the wind out of you. I hope it gets some love at the Oscars. Sometimes sad independent films win big on Oscar night. I won’t be too upset if this wins for best picture (although Arrival is still my favourite, with this film tied with Hell or High Water for 2nd place). Casey Affleck is outstanding in his performance; this is such a multi-faceted role. If he doesn’t win best actor, I will be disappointed (not quite as disappointed as I was about Amy Adams’ snub for Arrival). I would be thrilled if any of my favourite 3 contenders would take home gold for screenplay, but I won’t hold my breath.

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

Blog Stats

  • 11,051 hits
